[ENG] Review – Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction―if they don’t kill each other first.

 *

Even before its release, I was so excited about the book. The premise, the Ocean’s 11-Game of Thrones combo, the idea of following new characters in the same universe as the Grisha trilogy. Yeah!

And double yeah… because in my opinion, the book totally lived up to its hype. All those four-five starts ratings on Goodreads, they are true, my friends!

Six of Crows was… refreshing. It was action-packed, fast-paced and interesting. It was complicated and smart and fascinating and I loved the plot… and OH MY GOD the characters.

Ok, so let’s start with the story. The pitch says it all. The plot revolves around an impossible heist. Kaz needs help to break into the Ice Court, a military stronghold never breached before. It’s risky and exciting and dangerous, and you’ll want to be focused on everything that’s happening. Believe me, the twists and turns will keep you on the edge of your seat. There were times I was holding my book, screaming “Oh my god! You did not just…” or “F*ck! Yep, that was clever!”. Things are complicated and the pieces of the story come together so perfectly. I do want to know how Leigh built the plot, because… wow. (Did you outline the book in details before you started writing?) I love complexity and this book has all I needed at the right time.

Now, let’s focus on the characters. They are so, so good. Fabulous! They are a bunch of outcasts, yes, but they are complex and lost and driven and angry and funny. The third person works well to introduce them, their motivations and actions. I’m a sucker for diversity in books and this one has all the kinds, in terms of culture, background, body image and relationships. The friendships are perfect, the banters are fun and never over the top. Yes, there are couples, but the romance never takes over the story. It feels natural and… the FEELS are all over the place.

I don’t want to share too many details, but you won’t regret giving it a try. To be honest, I preferred Six Of Crows to the Grisha series, which I really liked. (I love stories about misfits and con artists and gangsters, ok.) This is an exciting adventure, dark and violent at times and sexy sometimes and… never boring. This is a book I wish I wrote. Thank you for this moment, Leigh. (she said, crawling back into her reading cave, waiting for the sequel!).

Laisser un commentaire

